About Us

Who we are

The Reading Association of Ireland (RAI) was founded in 1975.

It is affiliated to the International Reading Association, a body with over 80,000 members throughout the world, whose aim is to promote literacy worldwide. The association is run on a voluntary basis by its members.

Committee structure

The committee is elected on an annual basis at the Annual General Meeting, which occurs during the Autumn Conference. All current members are eligible to vote.

Current Committee


Gerry Shiel
Past President:
Niamh Fortune
Eithne Kennedy
Aoibheann Kelly
President Elect:
Fiona Mc Ginley


  • Brendan Culligan
  • Caroline Daly
  • Bernadette Dwyer**
  • Gene Mehigan
  • Maura Mc Mahon (Co-opted)
  • Brian Murphy*
  • Jennifer O’Sullivan
  • Cora Tighe (Co-opted)
  • Kate Turley
  • Gillian Watson
  • Maureen Wilson

*RAI Representative on IDEC: International Development in Europe Committee (European Committee of the International Reading Association) and FELA (Federation of European Literacy Associations)

**Member IRA Board of Directors